top of page
  • Writer's pictureGood Hunter

Carrion: My Sunday dinner

Updated: Jan 29, 2021

Intro:


It begins.

Who doesn’t want to be a monster sometimes? I for one can confirm that yes-I dream of becoming a horrific fleshy mound of meat and mouths that consumes everything in sight. The only problem is that it does irreversible damage to my waistline and entire cities. As a result, I have to take comfort in video games representing what I for what always dreamed of doing. Carrion fulfils this and more, maybe even a little too well. Cause I don’t even remember my last transformation. Let alone how I got from the hotel to the cemetery with all those bodies.


Story:


FOOD!

Because you are an orgy of flesh and teeth (wow that brings back memories) with hardly any sentience. There won’t be much of a story as a result. How can one explore the terrifying breakdown of trust and sense of helplessness (John Carpenter's The Thing ) when you are the cause of that? The answer is that you don’t and I think Carrion is better off because of it. I just want to eat people and evolve into my final form dammit, I don’t need to be shamed about how my eating habits affect those around me!


Gameplay:


Depositing mass.

What exactly is Carrion? A puzzle platformer? There isn’t really any platforming as Shoggothing can effortlessly climb and navigate just about any space provided there’s nothing in the way. So puzzler? I guess so as I had to work out how to get past security fences, learn the environment, and figure out which people should get noshed first. So yeah puzzler it is.


A monster can’t read maps


My biggest gripe with Carrion is the lack of a map or means of orientation. Sometimes you will have to retreat to previous levels or to progress with the game. Nevertheless, Carrion doesn’t give any sort of info on the subject. Not having a map is not a deal-breaker, provided that the environments distinct and have visual landmarks. However, Carrion takes place almost entirely in gray and black laboratories and bunkers, except for underground gardens. So not only do you have no idea where you are supposed to go. But also sometimes you might get soft blocked into an unwinnable situation.


*Burp* That was delicious!

One such instance was when I accidentally trapped myself in a pool of water. That I couldn’t escape because the water was too low but all paths to progress were blocked because I went the wrong way. Fortunately, I was able to restart close by and continue, but I shouldn't have been punished for exploring without assistance. Another problem with the environment scheme is the lack of color-coding. Early on I missed an essential pipe because a black pipe in a dark corner against black, gray, and the (only occasional) white can be a little difficult to spot. I wish that either there was a map or transition shot to where I should be heading towards as opposed to just leaving me lost and confused.


Evolution is a wonderful thing


The design has a Metroidvania flavour to it. That being certain areas are locked off until you get the required upgrade. It’s a pretty light influence, to be honest. Most backtracking tends to be for secondary token upgrades, such as upgrading your energy meter to make it bigger. But considering how many energy restorers there are, the upgrades don't do much. What I do find interesting is how your mass affects what abilities you have. At full mass, you have three health bars but you move sluggishly.


Soon I shall begin to feed.

Carrion makes up for the lack of movement speed by offering the most powerful abilities in the game. That being an AOE attack that kills everything and invulnerability. As you take damage, you lose some abilities but gain new-weaker abilities, like a bash or a web I could fire. Nevertheless, you become faster as a result. I like this mechanic, as it offers interesting quandaries to exploration and combat. The former has you deliberately making yourself weaker to solve puzzles and the latter can help you close the distance and chomp on your yummy assailant. Each has its own risks and rewards that lend to intense and fun scenarios.


Feeding and metal bashing


I like eating people as much as the next monster and Carrion valid my needs perfectly. You will encounter many enemies along the way. These differ from the utterly easy-such as the helpless scientists who simply run and scream before getting munched. Then the guards who shoot before getting noshed, scientists with electric barriers and flame throws and robots. Each of these is more difficult than the last, the scientists demand a sneaky approach as they deal heavy damage and cannot die if they spot you. The robots can't be eaten and force you to act aggressively, smashing them against the walls or floors.


Need to rest after my meal.

The differences in approach tactics keep the game fresh from a combat perspective, as the mechanics themselves are rather basic. You just send out a tentacle, scoop them up and have them for dinner. However, with the added pressure of not being spotted. Or scrambling to smash a robot that’s about to machine-gun my maw. It turns what are otherwise basic mechanics into something fun. Plus it's fun to hear them scream before the bones crunch and health is restored. I love how mass and health is regained by devouring humans. It makes sense from a context standpoint (being a monster that metabolizes like a jet engine) and keeps the pacing tight.


Art style and Graphics:


The pixel art is beautiful and visceral. Whatever the thing is supposed to be, I cannot deny how effectively disgusting and alien it is. Even if it can be a little generic in design (mounds of flesh and mouths became old after the Shoggoths).


Performance:


Perfect


Never swim on a full stomach kids.

Conclusion:


As you laugh out that serious confession, I placed in this otherwise professional article about a game. I want to assure you that Carrion is a great title to sink your teeth and flesh tentacles into. Just have a guide on hand in case you get lost as the game will not tell you where to go.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page