top of page
  • Writer's pictureGood Hunter

The future of this site

Updated: Oct 14, 2020

Intro:


I have been thinking about this a lot recently. Whether a blog post was needed or a Facebook post was required. I figured that this would be the best means. I wouldn’t be restricted by word counts here. But even then, is it right to write this? Maybe I should just make a decision and execute it. I have no idea in all honesty. But, let’s see how this goes.


The truth of it all:


Imaginative Ramblings is not sustainable. For the past three years, IR has been a persistent loss for me. Maybe it is because I failed to market myself effectively, maybe it was because I have been too slow to keep up with the latest releases. It could also be because people do not like written content as opposed to audiovisual content. Maybe it was because of the...spelling and grammar problems. The balance between quantity and quality. It could be a mixture of all of them. But the long and the short of it is that. I cannot keep this site up without some sort of sustainability.


I am not expecting sympathy or pity, I am not entitled to people’s time or money. If people don’t think I am worth their time or money then that their choice. But the outcome is that IR is just a financial burden for me. One that I cannot seem to find any reliable means to be profitable. At most I think I can make it run for another year. At the very least it will last until next year. That is all I will say on the matter. I won’t lie that I am sad. But then again we live and learn.


The coin is still being flipped.

It is also worth noting that next year I will be starting my higher education. My time will be limited and I honestly think I can devote myself to a job where I can't get paid. That is not to say I didn’t have fun with IR, I was exposed to many games that I might have otherwise have never played. I have learnt a lot about game design and what makes a great game great, while what makes a bad game...sh*t. I love art and culture and Imaginative Ramblings has allowed me express and share this love with all of you. Even if it felt like work, I had fun while I was working.


I would like to thank all my readers who took time out of their day to read my work, those who chat with me and challenge my claims. It was great, I am grateful to those who noticed my work. I am grateful for those who took me seriously enough to give feedback.


Conclusion:


I placed a lot of trust in this project. I had hope for it. But for now and the foreseeable future. I cannot see IR being sustainable or even profitable. That is the truth of it all. Unless IR becomes sustainable then I will be forced to shut it down by the 10th of February next year.


A word to you:


Imaginative Ramblings is a part time gaming blog and opinion site. If you enjoy my work and want to help sustain Imaginative Ramblings, then you can donate via the Paypal link at the bottom of the page or by using the following referral links when buying from Humble Bundle or Amazon. Just five dollars can go a long way in keeping this site up.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page